Daayitwa Public Service Fellows for Summer 2016


We are pleased to inform you that 14 outstanding Nepalese from 11 different countries representing various academic and professional backgrounds have been selected as Daayitwa Summer Fellows 2016. This year’s Fellowship has been designed with a vision of an economically prosperous Nepal.

This summer will mark the 6th cohort of Daayitwa – Nepal Public Service Fellowship. This cohort of 14 highly talented and passionate Daayitwa Fellows will embark on a shared journey of innovation, collaboration and service in shaping Nepal’s trajectory towards economic prosperity. They will be working with 6 Ministries (Ministry of Agricultural Development, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Labor and Employment, Ministry of Federal Affairs & Local Development, Ministry of Industry & Ministry of Commerce) and 2 public agencies (National Planning Commission and Nepal Rastra Bank) for three months starting this June.

As a part of the outreach for this cohort, several information sessions were held at different colleges within Kathmandu Valley including Himalayan White House College, Kathmandu College of Management, Kathmandu University School of Management, Kathmandu University School of Arts and ACE institute of Management. Similarly, an Open House was organized at Daayitwa where the participants had one-on-one conversations with former Daayitwa Fellows and our governance team.

The Daayitwa Fellows will execute evidence-based policy research and recommend innovative policies and programs to their respective government agencies for promoting economic prosperity. The Fellows will also receive various policy trainings, networking sessions and a 6-week adaptive leadership development course, offered by the Nepal Leadership Academy and developed in collaboration with professors at Harvard Center for Public Leadership.